THE MEDITATION OF MY HEART

TC; THE RUG

The Franciscan priest Richard Rohr points out that Native Americans have a tradition of leaving a blemish in one corner of the rug they are weaving BECAUSE THEY BELIEVE THAT’S WHERE THE SPIRIT ENTERS.

I can relate to the rugs.

I want desperately for things to go “how they’re suppose to.” Which in another way of saying,”how I want them to,” which is another way of saying “according to my plan.”

I find again and again I try to do thing my way and again and again the same thing happens every time. I come to the end of myself, to the end of my power, the end of my strength, the end of my understanding, only to find in that place of powerlessness a strength and peace that wasn’t there before.

I keep discovering that it’s in the blemish of my life that the Spirit enters.

Leave a Reply

